Widowhood

I live with the inlaws

And just got the news

I have to move by septemberish

Abiding in one of the richest areas per ca-pita in the US

But widows aren’t rich

Not my class anyway

The ones wed to dead junkies

With the kids on state care who need psychiatrists

and therapy twice a week paid out of pocket

The ones who have worn the same shoes for seven years

and spend half their life choking back tears

we came here because we’d nowhere to stay

and the time has come

to again go away

but where to this time?

I have moved over twenty times in my forty years

I am tired and want to lay my books upon the last shelf

hang up the last mirror

a home for myself

but no money I have

no carriage either

no work

I’m ill

I fear whats before me

I loathe whats behind

and the great cost of it all

a once happy girls mind

a once happy girls mine

Are you still in there… smiling one?

Hopeful one?

Faithful one who knows all is well?

Are you…                  you…         you…        you…                                                     you…?

Image


3 responses to “Widowhood”

  1. Yes, your beautiful girl (and she is beautiful) is still in there. With the right therapy and all the love and support that she is so fortunate to get from you, she will come out again.

    I am sorry about this move. It would be really easy (and almost justified) to feel hopeless at this point…but you don’t seem like the type to me. In the bleakest situations, you seem to gather strength from the very insides that bore your children. When others would crumble, you seem to find a thread to hold yourself up…simply because your children need you.

    I hope good, fruitful empolyment comes your way. I hope it brings a good, permanent, peaceful home for you and your kids. You so much deserve this.

    Please know that you and your family will be in my heart and prayers.

    Peace,
    RisingSong

    • Thank you for your kind words but the girl I was speaking of was me. I am afraid she is gone forever. The hope. The light. The fight. I simply cannot take much more.

      • I am sorry this time is so difficult…beyond difficult…beyond humanly bearable. I wish I could carry you and give you rest – just enough to bring the hope and the light and the fight back. Instead I prayed and shed my tears for you, as I sang Amazing Grace.

        Please don’t give up. Is there someone who can carry you? Just for a day?

Leave a comment